top of page


On November 28th 1967, 6 women of Loyola College seeing the need for a sorority on campus, drew up an embryonic constitution with the understanding that future amendments would most likely be required. The six 6 founding mothers are Linda Renaud, Andrea Coonan, Valerie Bedard, Sonia Danko, Therese Fedorak, and Kathleen McGuire. On December 5th 1967, the constitution was adopted and formal plans for probationary recognition began. In the meantime, various committees were set up. Examples of these were the Pin, Crest, a Main and a Pledge Education Committee.

Mrs. Gail Valaskakis became our first Chapter Advisor. On January 15th 1968, a brief asking for recognition was submitted to the college Sub Committee on Fraternities and Sororities. The appeal was accepted and Zeta Tau Omega became an official sorority, with prospective chapter membership of thirty women.

Zeta Tau Omega Sorority offers members a wide array of opportunities and benefits.


These include philanthropy and community service events, social activities, a supportive home environment, a network of sisters, close friendships, skill development, and memories that last a lifetime.

bottom of page